About the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry

The NZIC was founded in 1931. It is comprised of seven geographical branches, two educational branches, and a number of specialist groups.

The governing council comprises a delegate from each Branch Committee together with an elected President, a Vice President or Immediate Past President, a General Treasurer, and Student Representative. Members of Council are elected annually at the AGM.

Members of the NZIC can also elect to belong to one or more Specialist Groups within the NZIC. There are 10 Specialist Groups registered, of varying activity. Some are functional only during national Conferences, while others have active year-long programmes, including their own conferences, and recruit non-NZIC members as affiliates.