Auckland Branch covers the North Auckland District. This district covers the area north of a line drawn from the mouth of the Waikato to the Firth of Thames, not including the Coromandel Peninsula.

Auckland Branch Committee

ChairDr Cameron Weber
SecretaryDr Marija Gizdavic-Nikolaidis
TreasurerDr Marcus Jones
Council DelegateDr Jack Chen
Chem. Ed. Group RepresentativeDr Ivanhoe Leung
Branch EditorDr Davide Mercadante
Committee Member(s)A/Prof Gordon Rewcastle
Prof Allan Blackman
Dr Muhammad Hanif
A/Prof Bob Anderson
Student Representative(s)Renjie Huang
Dominique Rwizinkindi
Pablo Solis Muñana


NZIC Auckland Branch Report from the Chair 2019

Our financial year runs from 1st October until 30th September and our last AGM was on Friday 30th November, 2018, so this report starts from that date.

Firstly, I would like to thank all the members of the branch committee for their contributions this year. I would especially like to thank Dr Marija Gizdavic-Nikolaidis as Branch Secretary, Dr Jack Chen as Council Delegate and Chemical Education Group Representative, Dr Cameron Weber as Branch Editor, and Dr Marcus Jones as Treasurer. I would also like to thank everyone who was involved in helping the organisation and promotion of the NZIC events this year.


We have continued organise a diverse seminar programme this year across AUT and UoA. We have hosted 13 seminars this year, covering different areas of chemistry, from chemical education to nanomaterials, organic synthesis to inorganic polymers. In addition, we wanted to achieve balances in genders (7 male speakers and 6 female speakers) and career stages (from early career academics to Nobel Laureates) in our seminar programme.

Dr Tobias Gruber (University of Lincoln)

Dr Jóhannes Reynisson (The University of Auckland)

Dr Gareth Cave (Nottingham Trent University)

Dr Alvin Orbaek White (Swansea University)

Dr Daniel Foley (University of Canterbury)

Professor Sir Fraser Stoddart (Northwestern University)

Dr Sheila Woodgate (The University of Auckland)

Dr Richard Hopkinson (University of Leicester)

Dr Renee Goreham (The University of Newcastle)

Dr Megan Grainger (The University of Waikato)

Dr Vanessa Morris (University of Canterbury)

Dr Erin Leitao (The University of Auckland)

Dr Viji Sarojini (The University of Auckland)


In addition to our own seminar programme, we have also co-hosted the Royal Society of Chemistry Australasian Lecturer (Professor Keith Gordon, University of Otago), and sponsored an open lecture organised by the Centre for Green Chemical Science at the University of Auckland (Dr Pete Myers, Environmental Health Sciences).

Sponsorship and prizes

The NZIC continued to support undergraduate chemistry students in the Auckland region by sponsoring undergraduate prizes at AUT, UoA and Massey Auckland prizes.

Unlike previous years, no requests were made to the branch to sponsor the UoA SCS Research Showcase or any other meetings or conferences.

Two postgraduate students applied for travel grants this year (Chloe Ren and Pablo Solís Muñana) to travel to the NZIC2019 conference in November this year. Both applications were approved. Both Ren and Solís Muñana will give oral presentations at the conference. In addition, Solís Muñana will represent the Auckland branch to compete for the ‘Student Oral Communication Prize’.


Finance report will be provided by Dr Marcus Jones.

Other matters

A particular highlight this year was that our long-serving branch secretary, Dr Marija Gizdavic-Nikolaidis, was made FNZIC. Marija has served the branch for more than ten years so the recognition was well-deserved.

Ivanhoe Leung

13th November, 2019