Congratulations to the NZIC prize winners!

The 2018 NZIC awards were voted on at the recent Council meeting. Continuing the trend from recent years there were many excellent nominees for all of the awards which suggests that chemistry in New Zealand is currently in a good state. However, this made the deliberations very difficult. This year the Shimadzu Prize for Industrial and Applied Chemistry went to Mr Darren Saunders from ESR in Christchurch. The Denis Hogan Chemical Education Award was awarded to Dr David Warren (Department of Chemistry, University of Otago). The Maurice Wilkins Centre Prize for Chemical Science was awarded to Professor Antony Fairbanks (School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, University of Canterbury). Congratulations to all the award winners.