NZIC Prize Winners 2021

It is with great pleasure that we announce the winners of this year’s NZIC prizes. The fields nominated for each award were extremely strong again this year and the selection committees had a very difficult time deciding on the awards.

The Maurice Wilkins Centre Prize for Chemical Science.
This is the premier prize of the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry (NZIC) and is awarded to a candidate based on the excellence and impact of their chemistry. The 2021 Winner is Professor Martyn Coles (Te Herenga Waka – Victoria University of Wellington).

The Douglas Pharmaceuticals Prize for Industrial and Applied Chemistry
This prize was first awarded in 1978 and is awarded for meritorious achievement in the field of industrial or applied chemistry. The 2021 winner is Dr Brendon Gill (Fonterra).

The JEOL Brian Halton Award
The Brian Halton award is awarded for the best paper in the field of chemistry published by a New Zealand University student. The 2021 recipient is Qing Wang (University of Auckland).

The sciPAD Denis Hogan award for Chemical Education recognises excellence in teaching chemistry.
The award is made to a person who has made an important contribution to Chemical Education in New Zealand. The 2021 winner is Jo Standley.

For further information can be found here.