NZIC Prize winners for 2020

It is with great pleasure that we announce the winners of this year’s NZIC prizes. The fields nominated for each award were extremely strong again this year and the selection committees had a very difficult time deciding on the awards.

Maurice Wilkins Centre Prize for Chemical Science

This is the premier prize of the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry (NZIC) and is awarded to a candidate based on the excellence and impact of their chemistry.

The winner for 2020 is:
Associate Professor Geoff Waterhouse (The University of Auckland)

NZIC Prize for Industrial and Applied Chemistry

The Industrial and Applied Chemistry Prize was first awarded in 1978 to encourage and support applied chemical research in New Zealand. The prize is awarded for meritorious achievement in the field of industrial or applied chemistry.

The winners for 2020 (a joint application/award) are:
Professor Justin Hodgkiss and Dr Kai Chen (Victoria University of Wellington)

sciPAD Denis Hogan Chemical Education Award

The sciPAD Denis Hogan award for Chemical Education recognises excellence in teaching chemistry.  The award is made to a person who has made an important contribution to Chemical Education in New Zealand.

The winner for 2020 is:
Dr Murray Thompson (Logan Park High School)

JEOL Brian Halton Award

This is a new award, given out for the first time this year. It is awarded for the best paper in the field of chemistry published by a New Zealand University student.

The winner for 2020 is:
Lynn Lisboa (University of Otago)