Specialist groups

NZIC members may elect to belong to one or more Specialist Groups within the NZIC. There are 10 Specialist Groups registered, of varying activity. Some are functional only during national Conferences, while others have active year-long programmes, including their own conferences, and recruit non-NZIC members as affiliates.

Analytical Chemistry Group

To be confirmed

Chemical Education Group

Suzanne Boniface
Victoria University Wellington

Chromatography Group

Visit their website: To be confirmed


Alison Downard FRSNZ
School of Physical and Chemical Sciences­ | Te Kura Matū
University of Canterbury | Te Whare Wananga o Waitaha
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140, New Zealand

Phone: 64 3 369-4228
Fax: 64 3 364-2110

Fats and Oils

To be confirmed

Inorganic and Organometallic

School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Victoria University (Wellington)
PO Box 600

Phone: 04 463 5965


Molecular Modelling

Jack Flanagan
Auckland Cancer Society Research Centre
University of Auckland

Joel Tyndall
School of Pharmacy
University of Otago

Organic and Medicinal Chemistry

Dr Jonathan Sperry
Associate Professor in Organic and Medicinal Chemistry
New Zealand

Phone: 64 9 923-8269
Email link: j.sperry@auckland.ac.nz

Physical Chemistry

To be confirmed

Polymer Chemistry

To be confirmed

X-Ray Crystallography

Dr Geoff Jameson
Professor in Structural Chemistry and Biology
Massey University
Private Bag 11 222
Palmerston North 4410

Phone: (06) 951-7626