Who we are

The NZIC was founded in 1931. It is comprised of six branches and a number of specialist groups.

The governing council comprises a delegate from each Branch Committee together with an elected President, first and second Vice Presidents, General Secretary and General Treasurer. Members of Council are elected annually at the AGM, in recent years the First Vice-President has been elected unopposed to the Presidency and the Second Vice-President has been elected unopposed to the First Vice-Presidency.

Members of the NZIC can also elect to belong to one or more Specialist Groups within the NZIC. There are 10 Specialist Groups registered, of varying activity. Some are functional only during national Conferences, while others have active year-long programmes, including their own conferences, and recruit non-NZIC members as affiliates.

Aims, Code of Ethics and Rules

NZIC members have a general responsibility to uphold and promote the dignity, standing and reputation of the chemical science professions, and to uphold the principles of the scientific method.

For more information, please read about our institutional Aims, Code of Ethics and Rules of membership.